Kenya Counties Map Labelled

Kenya Counties Map Labelled

Key Takeaways

  • The Kenya Counties Map Labelled provides an in-depth visual representation of the counties within Kenya.
  • It serves as a useful tool for understanding the geography and administrative divisions of Kenya.
  • The map highlights the names and boundaries of each county, making it easy to identify and locate specific regions.
  • By studying this map, one can gain insights into the population distribution, economic activities, and cultural diversity across Kenya.


The Kenya Counties Map Labelled is a product of Kenya’s political and administrative transformation. Before the 2010 Constitution came into effect, Kenya was divided into eight provinces: Central, Coast, Eastern, Nairobi, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley, and Western.

However, with the new Constitution, Kenya adopted a devolved system of government, leading to the creation of 47 counties. The main objective was to bring governance closer to the people, promote equitable distribution of resources, and enhance local participation in decision-making processes.

The boundaries and names of these counties were determined through a consultative and participatory process involving various stakeholders. Each county is headed by a Governor and has its own County Assembly, allowing for local governance and development planning.

Unique Insights

The Kenya Counties Map Labelled offers unique insights into the diverse geographical and cultural landscape of Kenya.

Geographical Insights

By studying the map, we can observe the varied geography of Kenya. From the coastal plains of Mombasa to the snow-capped peaks of Mount Kenya, the land is rich in natural beauty. The map showcases the Great Rift Valley, numerous lakes, rivers, and national parks, such as the Maasai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo, and many more.

Related Maps:  Orlandofergusonflatearthmap Edit

Furthermore, the map highlights the diverse climate zones across the country, ranging from arid and semi-arid regions like Turkana in the north to the lush green highlands of Kericho in the west. Such geographical variation has a significant impact on agriculture, wildlife, and tourism in each county.

Cultural Insights

Kenya is renowned for its cultural diversity. The Kenya Counties Map Labelled reveals a mosaic of ethnic communities residing in different counties. From the Maasai in Kajiado to the Luhya in Kakamega, every county has its own unique cultural practices, languages, and traditions.

Exploring the map, you can identify the areas where communities like the Luo, Kikuyu, Kamba, Kisii, and Turkana predominantly reside. This cultural diversity adds vibrancy to the country and contributes to its rich heritage.

Table of Relevant Facts

County Capital Population Main Economic Activities
Mombasa Mombasa 1,208,333 Tourism, Port Activities, Trade
Nairobi Nairobi 4,397,073 Financial Services, Communication, Tourism
Kisumu Kisumu 1,155,574 Fishing, Agriculture, Trading
Nakuru Nakuru 2,162,202 Agriculture, Manufacturing, Tourism
Garissa Garissa 841,353 Pastoralism, Trade, Agriculture


1. How many counties are there in Kenya?

There are 47 counties in Kenya.

2. When were the counties established?

The counties were established in 2010 with the promulgation of the new Kenyan Constitution.

3. What is the purpose of creating counties?

The main purpose was to devolve power and bring governance closer to the people, ensuring equitable distribution of resources and promoting local participation in decision-making.

4. Who is the head of a county?

Each county is headed by a Governor, who is elected by the people.

Related Maps:  Map Of Japan And Korea 1945 National Geographic

5. Are the counties equal in size?

No, the size of each county varies. Some are larger in size, while others are relatively smaller.

6. Can counties make their own laws?

County governments have legislative powers and can make laws within their jurisdiction as long as they do not conflict with the national laws.

7. How are county boundaries determined?

County boundaries are determined through a consultative and participatory process involving stakeholders, including the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

External Links

LSI Keywords

  • Kenya map with counties
  • Administrative divisions of Kenya
  • Kenyan Constitution
  • Devolved system of government
  • Geography of Kenya
  • Cultural diversity in Kenya
  • County governance
  • Economic activities in Kenya
  • Kenyan ethnic communities
  • Kenyan heritage

Maps. Maps. Maps.