Kyrgyzstan Provinces Map

Kyrgyzstan Provinces Map

Kyrgyzstan Provinces Map: A Comprehensive Guide

Key Takeaways:

  • Kyrgyzstan is a diverse country located in Central Asia.
  • It is comprised of seven provinces which exhibit unique geographical and cultural characteristics.
  • Exploring the Kyrgyzstan Provinces Map will help you understand the country’s rich history and natural wonders.
  • The map provides valuable information for planning trips, educational purposes, or research.


Kyrgyzstan, formerly known as the Kyrgyz Soviet Socialist Republic, gained independence in 1991 after the collapse of the Soviet Union. Being a landlocked country in Central Asia, Kyrgyzstan is known for its breathtaking mountain landscapes, historic Silk Road cities, and nomadic traditions.

Unique Insights:

1. The capital city of Kyrgyzstan is Bishkek, located in the Chuy Province. It serves as the cultural, political, and economic hub of the country.

2. Issyk-Kul, the world’s second-largest alpine lake, is located in the Issyk-Kul Province. It is known for its crystal-clear waters and surrounded by picturesque mountains.

3. The Naryn Province is home to the Tien Shan mountain range, which offers excellent opportunities for hiking, trekking, and mountaineering. It is a paradise for outdoor enthusiasts.

4. Osh, the second-largest city in Kyrgyzstan, is situated in the Osh Province. It is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in Central Asia and boasts a rich history.

5. The Talas Province, located in the northwest, is known for its historical significance. It was the site of the famous Battle of Talas in 751 AD, where the Chinese Tang Dynasty defeated the Arab Abbasid Caliphate.

6. The Batken Province shares a border with Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. It is home to unique cultural traditions and is known for its vibrant bazaars.

Related Maps:  Map Of Khalistan

7. The Jalal-Abad Province is famous for its thermal springs and picturesque landscapes. It is an ideal destination for nature lovers and those seeking relaxation.

Table of Relevant Facts:

Province Capital Main Attractions Land Area
Chuy Province Bishkek Burana Tower, Ala-Archa National Park 20,200 km²
Issyk-Kul Province Karakol Issyk-Kul Lake, Jeti-Oguz Gorge 43,100 km²
Naryn Province Naryn Son-Kul Lake, Tash Rabat Caravanserai 45,200 km²
Osh Province Osh Sulaiman-Too Sacred Mountain, Osh Bazaar 29,200 km²
Talas Province Talas Talas Museum, Manas Ordo Complex 11,700 km²
Batken Province Batken Uzgen Minaret, Isfana Bazaar 17,000 km²
Jalal-Abad Province Jalal-Abad Arslanbob Walnut Forest, Sary-Chelek Nature Reserve 33,700 km²

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ):

  1. What is the population of Kyrgyzstan?

    The estimated population of Kyrgyzstan is approximately 6.5 million people.

  2. Which province is known for its historical significance?

    The Talas Province is known for its historical significance, particularly as the site of the Battle of Talas in 751 AD.

  3. What is the largest city in Kyrgyzstan?

    The largest city in Kyrgyzstan is Bishkek, which is the capital and located in the Chuy Province.

  4. Which province is home to the world’s second-largest alpine lake?

    The Issyk-Kul Province is home to the world’s second-largest alpine lake, known as Issyk-Kul.

  5. What are some popular attractions in Osh Province?

    Some popular attractions in Osh Province include the Sulaiman-Too Sacred Mountain and the vibrant Osh Bazaar.

  6. Which province shares a border with Tajikistan and Uzbekistan?

    The Batken Province shares a border with both Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

  7. What are the main attractions in Jalal-Abad Province?

    The main attractions in Jalal-Abad Province include the Arslanbob Walnut Forest and the Sary-Chelek Nature Reserve.

Related Maps:  Indonesia Java Location Map

External Links:

LSI Keywords:

  • Kyrgyzstan map
  • Provinces of Kyrgyzstan
  • Central Asia
  • Mountain landscapes
  • Nomadic traditions
  • Silk Road cities
  • Bishkek
  • Issyk-Kul
  • Naryn
  • Osh
  • Talas
  • Batken
  • Jalal-Abad

Maps. Maps. Maps.