Maine Counties Map: A Comprehensive Guide

Key Takeaways:

  • The Maine Counties Map showcases the 16 counties that make up the state of Maine.
  • Each county has its unique characteristics, culture, and natural features.
  • Exploring the Maine Counties Map can help travelers and researchers gain a better understanding of the state’s geography and history.


The Maine Counties Map has a rich history dating back to the formation of the state. When Maine gained statehood in 1820, the county system was established to facilitate governance and administration. Initially, there were only nine counties, but over time, the number increased to the current sixteen.

Unique Insights:

1. Diverse Landscapes: The Maine Counties Map reveals the diverse landscapes present within the state. From the rugged coastline and picturesque islands of Hancock County to the majestic mountains and lakes of Piscataquis County, the map showcases the stunning natural beauty scattered across the state.

2. Rich Cultural Heritage: Each county in Maine has its unique cultural heritage. For example, Aroostook County is known for its deep connection to its agricultural roots and is often referred to as the “Potato Capital of the World”. In contrast, Cumberland County, home to the bustling city of Portland, offers a vibrant arts and culinary scene.

3. Historical Significance: The Maine Counties Map also highlights various historical sites and landmarks. For instance, Kennebec County houses the state capital, Augusta, and features historical sites like Fort Western, the oldest surviving wooden fort in the United States.

Table of Relevant Facts:

County Established County Seat
Androscoggin 1854 Auburn
Aroostook 1839 Houlton
Cumberland 1760 Portland
Franklin 1838 Farmington
Hancock 1790 Ellsworth
Kennebec 1799 Augusta
Knox 1860 Rockland
Lincoln 1760 Wiscasset
Oxford 1805 Paris
Penobscot 1816 Bangor
Piscataquis 1838 Dover-Foxcroft
Sagadahoc 1854 Bath
Somerset 1809 Skowhegan
Waldo 1827 Belfast
Washington 1790 Machias
York 1652 Alfred
Related Maps:  Georgetown Map

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

1. How many counties does Maine have?

Maine has a total of sixteen counties.

2. Which county is known as the “Potato Capital of the World”?

Aroostook County in Maine is popularly known as the “Potato Capital of the World.”

3. What is the oldest wooden fort in the United States?

Fort Western, located in Augusta, Kennebec County, is the oldest surviving wooden fort in the United States.

4. Which county in Maine contains the city of Portland?

Cumberland County in Maine contains the city of Portland.

5. What are some of the natural features of Maine found on the map?

Maine’s natural features include rugged coastline, islands, mountains, and lakes.

6. How can the Maine Counties Map be useful for researchers?

The Maine Counties Map can be useful for researchers to study geographical trends, cultural diversity, and historical aspects of the state.

7. Are there any famous landmarks shown on the Maine Counties Map?

Yes, the map highlights various famous landmarks, such as Fort Western, lighthouses, and historic sites.

For more information, you can explore the official website of or the Visit Maine tourism website.

LSI Keywords:

  • Maine counties
  • Maine geography
  • Maine history
  • Maine landmarks
  • Maine tourism
  • Maine culture
  • Maine natural features

Maps. Maps. Maps.