South Korea Regions Map

South Korea Regions Map

Key Takeaways

  • The South Korea Regions Map is a detailed representation of the administrative divisions within South Korea.
  • It showcases the nine provinces and seven metropolitan cities that make up the country.
  • This map is useful for understanding the distribution of power, resources, and cultural differences across South Korea.
  • It is commonly used by travelers, researchers, and businesses for various purposes, including planning trips or analyzing market trends.


The South Korea Regions Map has its historical roots in the country’s long and complex past. South Korea, officially known as the Republic of Korea, has a rich cultural and political history. The division of the Korean Peninsula into North and South Korea happened after World War II, and it led to the establishment of separate political entities.

The modern administrative divisions within South Korea were primarily established in 1949. At that time, the country consisted of eight provinces. However, due to several administrative reorganizations, the number of provinces increased to nine, with Jeju Province being designated as the most recent addition in 2006. Furthermore, Seoul, the capital city, was given the status of a metropolitan city in 1949, followed by the establishment of six more metropolitan cities over the years.

Unique Insights

The South Korea Regions Map provides valuable insights into the country’s geography, political organization, and cultural dynamics:

  • Each of the nine provinces in South Korea has its own unique characteristics, including varying dialects, historical sites, and natural landscapes. For example, Gyeonggi Province surrounds Seoul and is home to many important cultural and historical attractions.
  • Seoul, the capital and largest city of South Korea, is located in the northwest part of the country. It serves as the political, economic, and cultural center of the nation.
  • Busan, the second-largest city in South Korea, is a major port and known for its beautiful beaches and bustling international trade.
  • The region of Jeju Island, which became a province in 2006, is a popular tourist destination due to its stunning natural beauty, including volcanic landscapes and picturesque beaches.
Related Maps:  India Roadway Map

Table of Facts

Year Event
1949 Seoul designated as a metropolitan city
1963 Incheon and Daegu established as metropolitan cities
1973 Busan designated as a metropolitan city
1981 Daegu granted the status of a metropolitan city
1989 Kwangju and Daejeon established as metropolitan cities
1995 Ulsan designated as a metropolitan city
2003 Gyeonggi Province surrounding Seoul expanded
2006 Jeju Province established

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

1. What is the purpose of the South Korea Regions Map?

The South Korea Regions Map serves as a detailed visual representation of the country’s administrative divisions, enabling users to gain a better understanding of the regional distribution and organization within South Korea.

2. Where can I obtain a physical copy of the South Korea Regions Map?

Physical copies of the South Korea Regions Map can often be obtained from local bookstores, tourist information centers, or online map retailers. Additionally, many digital versions of the map are available for free or for purchase on various websites.

3. How can the South Korea Regions Map be useful for travelers?

For travelers, the South Korea Regions Map is a valuable resource for planning trips and exploring the diverse cultural, historical, and scenic attractions within each region. It helps in understanding the geographical layout, transportation routes, and proximity of various destinations.

4. Can the South Korea Regions Map assist researchers and businesses?

Absolutely! Researchers and businesses can benefit from the South Korea Regions Map as it provides insights into regional demographics, economic activities, market potential, and cultural factors. It can aid in market analysis, feasibility studies, and decision-making processes.

Related Maps:  White Cliffs Of Dover Map

5. Is the South Korea Regions Map available in languages other than Korean?

Yes, the South Korea Regions Map is often available in multiple languages to cater to the needs of international users. Common languages include English, Japanese, and Chinese, as these languages have a significant number of speakers who visit or have business interests in South Korea.

6. Are there any restrictions on the usage of the South Korea Regions Map?

The South Korea Regions Map is generally available for personal, educational, and non-commercial use. However, it is important to respect copyright restrictions and comply with any licensing terms associated with the map.

7. Are there any plans for future changes to the administrative divisions in South Korea?

While there are currently no specific plans for significant changes to the administrative divisions of South Korea, it is always possible that administrative reorganizations may occur in the future to address evolving societal needs or to improve administrative efficiency.

External Links

LSI Keywords:

  • South Korea administrative divisions
  • South Korea provinces
  • South Korea metropolitan cities
  • Seoul
  • Busan
  • Jeju Province
  • Gyeonggi Province
  • South Korea geography
  • South Korea culture
  • South Korea history

Maps. Maps. Maps.