Turkey Adm Location Map

Turkey Adm Location Map

Turkey Adm Location Map – A Detailed Guide

Key Takeaways

  • Turkey Adm Location Map provides useful information about administrative divisions within Turkey.
  • The map helps to understand the distribution and boundaries of provinces, districts, and municipalities in Turkey.
  • It is a valuable resource for travelers, researchers, and individuals interested in Turkish geography.
  • Turkey has 81 provinces, divided into 923 districts and more than 13,000 municipalities.
  • The map helps in planning routes and exploration of various regions in Turkey.


The administrative divisions of Turkey have evolved over time. Initially, Turkey was divided into Vilayets
during the Ottoman Empire. After the establishment of the Republic of Turkey in 1923, the concept of “provinces”
was introduced. Over the years, the boundaries and number of provinces have changed.

Unique Insights

  • Turkey is divided into seven geographical regions that are further divided into provinces.
  • Each province has its own distinct characteristics in terms of culture, geography, and history.
  • Istanbul, the largest city in Turkey, is not only a province but also a city in its own right.
  • Ankara, the capital city, is also a province.
  • The provinces vary in size, population, and economic activities.
  • The Eastern Anatolia region has the fewest provinces, while the Marmara region has the highest number.
  • The map showcases the beautiful coastal provinces along the Aegean and Mediterranean Sea.

Table of Relevant Facts

Year Fact
1923 The Republic of Turkey is established with 70 provinces.
1984 The number of provinces increases to 76.
1990 Turkey introduces 8 additional provinces, bringing the total to 84.
2002 The number reduces to 81 as three provinces merge.
2004 The province of Istanbul is divided into 39 districts.
2012 Three new provinces, Bayburt, Hakkari, and Kilis, are created.
2020 Karaman province is divided into two, creating the new province of Kumluca.
Related Maps:  Premier Inn Map Of London

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

1. How can I use the Turkey Adm Location Map?

The map can be used for various purposes, such as planning trips, understanding administrative boundaries, and
exploring the geographical diversity of Turkey.

2. Are there any distinct cultural differences between the provinces?

Yes, each province in Turkey has its own cultural heritage, traditions, and local cuisine, making it worthwhile
to explore different regions.

3. What is the largest province in Turkey?

The largest province in Turkey is Konya, located in the Central Anatolia region. It covers an area of
approximately 40,838 square kilometers.

4. Can I visit the provinces only for tourism purposes?

Yes, Turkey is a popular tourist destination, and visitors can explore various provinces for their historical,
natural, and cultural attractions.

5. Are the provinces evenly distributed across the seven geographical regions?

No, the distribution of provinces is not equal. Some regions have more provinces compared to others, mainly due
to variations in population and geographical factors.

6. Is Istanbul the only city that is both a province and a city?

Yes, Istanbul is unique in that aspect. It is the only city in Turkey that is considered both a province and a

7. How often are changes made to the administrative divisions?

Changes are relatively rare, but new provinces or changes in boundaries may occur over time due to various
reasons, including administrative requirements and regional development.

Maps. Maps. Maps.