Uttarakhand Divisions Map

Uttarakhand Divisions Map

Uttarakhand Divisions Map – A Comprehensive Guide

Key Takeaways

  • Uttarakhand is a state in northern India with distinctive divisions.
  • The map showcases the various divisions within Uttarakhand.
  • Understanding the divisions of Uttarakhand is essential for navigation and administrative purposes.
  • Each division in Uttarakhand has its unique cultural, geographical, and administrative characteristics.
  • The divisions of Uttarakhand play a significant role in the state’s development and governance.
  • Exploring each division provides an opportunity to experience diverse landscapes, traditions, and heritage.


Uttarakhand, formerly known as Uttaranchal, is a state located in the northern part of India. It was carved out of the northern section of Uttar Pradesh on November 9, 2000, becoming the 27th state of the Indian Union. Uttarakhand is known for its stunning natural beauty, with the Himalayan mountain range dominating its landscape.

Uttarakhand is divided into two distinct regions: the Garhwal and Kumaon divisions. These divisions further divide the state into a total of 13 districts, each offering its own charm and appeal. The Uttarakhand divisions map provides a visual representation of the state’s administrative divisions, allowing visitors and locals to navigate and explore this beautiful region more effectively.

The Garhwal division is located towards the west of Uttarakhand and consists of seven districts: Dehradun, Chamoli, Haridwar, Rudraprayag, Pauri Garhwal, Tehri Garhwal, and Uttarkashi. This division is known for its sacred shrines, pilgrimage sites, and popular tourist destinations like Mussoorie and Rishikesh.

The Kumaon division is situated in the eastern part of Uttarakhand and comprises six districts: Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat, Nainital, Pithoragarh, and Udham Singh Nagar. This region is renowned for its scenic beauty, lush green forests, lakes, and hill stations such as Nainital and Ranikhet. Kumaon also boasts rich cultural heritage and is home to many ancient temples and historical sites.

Related Maps:  Map Of Florida Highlighting Boca Raton

The divisions of Uttarakhand are not only important for administrative purposes but also offer a glimpse into the diverse cultures, traditions, and geographical features of the state. Whether you are an adventurer, a nature lover, or a history buff, exploring the divisions of Uttarakhand will undoubtedly leave you mesmerized and wanting more.

Unique Insights

  • The Garhwal division is known for its sacred shrines and pilgrimage sites, attracting religious tourists from all over the world.
  • Rishikesh, a city in the Garhwal division, is renowned as the “Yoga Capital of the World” and offers a serene environment for spiritual seekers.
  • Nainital, a popular hill station in the Kumaon division, is famous for its picturesque Naini Lake and scenic landscapes.
  • Uttarakhand is home to the Jim Corbett National Park, India’s oldest national park, located in the Nainital district.
  • Trekking enthusiasts can explore the Valley of Flowers National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site situated in the Chamoli district.
  • The Kedarnath Temple, one of the holiest Hindu pilgrimage sites dedicated to Lord Shiva, is located in Uttarakhand’s Rudraprayag district.
  • The divisions of Uttarakhand are known for their distinct cultural festivals, such as the Kumaoni Holi and the Garhwal Festival.

Table of Relevant Facts

Division Districts Main Attractions
Garhwal Dehradun, Chamoli, Haridwar, Rudraprayag, Pauri Garhwal, Tehri Garhwal, Uttarkashi Mussoorie, Rishikesh, Kedarnath Temple, Har Ki Pauri, Rajaji National Park
Kumaon Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat, Nainital, Pithoragarh, Udham Singh Nagar Nainital, Ranikhet, Jim Corbett National Park, Valley of Flowers

Frequently Asked Questions

  • 1. What is the best time to visit Uttarakhand?

    The best time to visit Uttarakhand is during the summer months (April to June) when the weather is pleasant and ideal for exploring the region’s natural beauty. Additionally, the monsoon season (July to September) offers lush greenery, but trekking and outdoor activities may be restricted due to heavy rainfall. Winter (October to February) attracts tourists seeking snow-capped mountains and winter sports.

  • 2. Are permits required to visit Uttarakhand?

    Generally, permits are not required for Indian citizens to visit Uttarakhand. However, some restricted areas near the international border may require special permits. International tourists are advised to check the current regulations and obtain the necessary permits before visiting such areas.

  • 3. What are some famous trekking routes in Uttarakhand?

    Uttarakhand is a paradise for trekking enthusiasts. Some of the famous trekking routes include the Chopta Chandrashila Trek, Valley of Flowers Trek, Roopkund Trek, Har Ki Dun Trek, and Kuari Pass Trek. These treks showcase the breathtaking beauty of Uttarakhand’s mountains, valleys, and meadows.

  • 4. Is Uttarakhand safe for solo female travelers?

    Uttarakhand is generally considered safe for solo female travelers. However, it is always recommended to take necessary precautions, such as avoiding isolated areas at night, traveling with a trusted guide, and keeping emergency contact numbers handy.

  • 5. What are the major airports in Uttarakhand?

    The major airports in Uttarakhand are the Jolly Grant Airport in Dehradun (Garhwal division) and the Pantnagar Airport in Pantnagar, near Haldwani (Kumaon division).

  • 6. Are there any wildlife sanctuaries in Uttarakhand?

    Yes, Uttarakhand is home to several wildlife sanctuaries and national parks. Some notable ones include Jim Corbett National Park, Rajaji National Park, Nanda Devi National Park, Binsar Wildlife Sanctuary, and Gangotri National Park.

  • 7. Can I experience water sports activities in Uttarakhand?

    Absolutely! Uttarakhand offers thrilling water sports activities such as river rafting in Rishikesh, kayaking in Nainital, and boating in the lakes of Uttarakhand’s hill stations. These activities provide an exciting way to experience the region’s natural beauty.

Related Maps:  West Sussex Map

External Links

LSI Keywords

  • Uttarakhand map
  • Uttarakhand divisions
  • Garhwal division
  • Kumaon division
  • Dehradun
  • Chamoli
  • Haridwar
  • Rudraprayag
  • Pauri Garhwal
  • Tehri Garhwal
  • Uttarkashi
  • Almora
  • Bageshwar
  • Champawat
  • Nainital
  • Pithoragarh
  • Udham Singh Nagar
  • Uttarakhand tourism
  • Valley of Flowers
  • Jim Corbett
  • Kedarnath
  • Naini Lake
  • Rishikesh
  • Nainital hill station

Maps. Maps. Maps.