Ghana Regions Map Pt

Ghana Regions Map Pt

Ghana Regions Map Pt – An Expert Cartographer’s Guide

Key Takeaways

  • Ghana is divided into 16 administrative regions.
  • Each region offers unique cultural, historical, and geographical features.
  • Exploring Ghana’s regions provides a diverse range of experiences for travelers.
  • Ghana’s map showcases its rich cultural heritage and natural beauty.


Dating back to ancient times, Ghana has been inhabited by various indigenous groups. The current political and administrative subdivisions were established in 1987 with the goal of decentralizing governance and fostering local development. The regions were designed to promote effective administration and facilitate regional planning initiatives.

Unique Insights

  • Volta Region: Known for its stunning landscapes and water bodies, including the Volta Lake, the world’s largest man-made lake by surface area.
  • Ashanti Region: Home to the rich cultural heritage of the Ashanti people, it is a vibrant region with historical sites such as the Ashanti Kingdom’s capital city, Kumasi, and the famous Manhyia Palace.
  • Northern Region: Offers opportunities to explore the diverse cultures of the Dagomba, Mamprusi, and other ethnic groups. The Larabanga Mosque, the oldest mosque in Ghana, is located here.
  • Greater Accra Region: Houses the country’s capital, Accra, and showcases a blend of modern infrastructure and historical landmarks like the James Fort and Independence Square.
  • Central Region: Known for its beautiful beaches, including the popular resort town of Cape Coast, and historical sites like Cape Coast Castle, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Western Region: Offers an abundance of natural resources, including gold mines and cocoa farms. It is also home to picturesque coastal towns like Takoradi and the Nzulezu Stilt Village.
  • Eastern Region: Encompassing diverse landscapes, including rolling hills, dense forests, and the scenic Volta Gorge, this region is perfect for nature enthusiasts.
Related Maps:  Map Of Usa Al

Table of Relevant Facts

Year Event
1957 Ghana gains independence from British colonial rule.
1987 Ghana’s current administrative regions are established.
2010 The Northern Region is split into two regions: Northern and Savannah.
2018 Oti Region is carved out of the Volta Region.


1. How many regions are there in Ghana?

There are 16 regions in Ghana.

2. What are some must-visit regions in Ghana?

Some must-visit regions in Ghana include the Volta Region, Ashanti Region, and Northern Region.

3. Are there any UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Ghana?

Yes, Ghana is home to several UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including Cape Coast Castle and the Asante Traditional Buildings.

4. Which region is the political capital of Ghana?

The Greater Accra Region, with its capital city Accra, serves as the political capital of Ghana.

5. What are some popular tourist activities in the Western Region?

Popular tourist activities in the Western Region include visiting the Nzulezu Stilt Village and exploring the vibrant city of Takoradi.

6. Which region is known for its rich cultural heritage?

The Ashanti Region is widely recognized for its rich cultural heritage, particularly the traditions and history of the Ashanti people.

7. What is the largest man-made lake in Ghana?

The Volta Lake, located in the Volta Region, is the largest man-made lake in Ghana and one of the largest in the world.

External Links

List of LSI Keywords

  • Ghana regions and map
  • Explore Ghana
  • Cultural heritage of Ashanti
  • Volta Region landscapes
  • Northern Region culture
  • Greater Accra attractions
  • Central Region beaches
  • Western Region resources
  • Eastern Region nature
  • Ghana’s administrative subdivisions
Related Maps:  Idaho Map Counties

Maps. Maps. Maps.