Karnataka Districts Map

Karnataka Districts Map

Key Takeaways:

  • The Karnataka Districts Map is a comprehensive representation of the administrative divisions within the Indian state of Karnataka.
  • It showcases the 30 districts of Karnataka, each with its distinct features, landmarks, and cultural heritage.
  • Exploring the map provides valuable insights into the geographical diversity and historical significance of each district.
  • Understanding the map is essential for researchers, travelers, and enthusiasts interested in Karnataka’s rich cultural and geographical elements.


The history of Karnataka’s district divisions dates back to ancient times. The region was ruled by various dynasties, including the Mauryas, Chalukyas, Rashtrakutas, and the Vijayanagara Empire. However, the current district administration system was established during British colonial rule in India.

Initially, Karnataka comprised larger administrative divisions known as “Presidencies,” with Bangalore as a part of the Madras Presidency. Over time, the state witnessed several reorganizations and the introduction of separate districts.

After Indian independence, Karnataka was initially organized into nine districts. However, due to strategic redevelopments and organizational requirements, the state now consists of 30 districts, each contributing uniquely to Karnataka’s reputation and heritage.

Unique Insights:

Exploring the Karnataka Districts Map provides numerous unique insights into the state’s diversity and regional characteristics:

  • Geographical Variations: The map showcases Karnataka’s diverse landscape, consisting of coastal regions, hilly areas, plateau regions, and forested zones. Each district contributes to this geographical richness in its unique way.
  • Cultural Heritage: Karnataka is known for its rich cultural heritage, and the map highlights the presence of ancient temples, historical monuments, traditional arts, and vibrant festivals in different districts.
  • Economic Significance: Many districts of Karnataka are major economic hubs, specializing in industries such as information technology, tourism, agriculture, and manufacturing. The map reveals these significant economic centers.
  • Linguistic Diversity: Karnataka is home to various linguistic communities, and the map provides an overview of the districts where different languages are predominantly spoken.
Related Maps:  Map Of New Jersey Municipalities

Table of Relevant Facts:

District Year of Formation Capital Population (As of 2021)
Bengaluru Urban 1986 Bengaluru 11,42,57,853
Bellary 1949 Bellary 27,47,756
Mysuru 1998 Mysuru 30,91,146


1. How many districts are there in Karnataka?

Karnataka has a total of 30 districts.

2. Which district is the capital of Karnataka?

Bengaluru Urban is the capital district of Karnataka.

3. Which district has the highest population in Karnataka?

Bengaluru Urban has the highest population in Karnataka, with over 11 crore residents.

4. Which district is known for its historical monuments?

Mysuru district is well-known for its historical monuments, including the Mysuru Palace.

5. Which districts are popular tourist destinations in Karnataka?

Popular tourist districts in Karnataka include Coorg, Chikmagalur, Hampi, and Udupi.

6. How many districts were there in Karnataka before reorganizations?

Before reorganizations, Karnataka initially comprised nine districts.

7. Which district is known as the “Silicon Valley of India”?

Bengaluru Urban district is often referred to as the “Silicon Valley of India” due to its thriving IT industry.

External Links:

LSI Keywords:

  • Karnataka
  • Karnataka Districts
  • Karnataka Geography
  • Karnataka Culture
  • Karnataka History
  • Karnataka Tourism
  • Karnataka Population
  • Karnataka Economic Hubs
  • Karnataka Languages

Maps. Maps. Maps.