Map Of Rutherford County North Carolina With Municipal And Township Labels

Map Of Rutherford County North Carolina With Municipal And Township Labels

Map of Rutherford County North Carolina With Municipal and Township Labels

Key Takeaways:

  • Rutherford County is located in the state of North Carolina.
  • The map provides detailed information about the municipal and township divisions within the county.
  • The map is a valuable resource for understanding the geography and administrative divisions of Rutherford County.

History of Rutherford County

Rutherford County, located in the western part of North Carolina, has a rich and storied history. The area was initially inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Cherokee and Catawba. European settlers began to arrive in the 18th century, drawn by the fertile land and abundant natural resources.

During the American Revolutionary War, the county played a significant role, with several battles fought on its soil. The county was officially established in 1779, named after Griffith Rutherford, a Revolutionary War general. Over the years, Rutherford County has seen periods of growth and development, shaped by agricultural, industrial, and transportation advancements.

Unique Insights

  • Rutherford County is home to the stunning Blue Ridge Mountains, providing scenic beauty and recreational opportunities.
  • The county offers a diverse range of outdoor activities, including hiking, fishing, and camping.
  • Rutherford County is known for its vibrant arts and cultural scene, with numerous galleries, theaters, and festivals throughout the year.
  • The map showcases the various municipalities and townships within Rutherford County, allowing residents and visitors to understand the administrative divisions.
  • Rutherford County is also known for its historical landmarks, such as the historic Main Street in downtown Forest City and the iconic Rutherford County Courthouse.

Table of Relevant Facts

Year Event
1779 Rutherford County is officially established.
1780 Battle of Kings Mountain takes place during the American Revolutionary War.
1893 The historic Rutherford County Courthouse is built.
1970 The town of Chimney Rock is incorporated.
2007 The Tryon International Equestrian Center opens, attracting visitors from around the world.
Related Maps:  Dead Sea Terrain Location Map


1. What is the largest municipality in Rutherford County?

The largest municipality in Rutherford County is Forest City, with a population of over 7,500 residents.

2. How many townships are there in Rutherford County?

Rutherford County is divided into nine townships: Alexander Mills, Bostic, Colfax, Cool Springs, Golden Valley, Green Hill, High Shoals, Logan Store, and Union Mills.

3. Are there any natural attractions in Rutherford County?

Yes, Rutherford County is home to several natural attractions, including Lake Lure, Chimney Rock State Park, and South Mountains State Park.

4. Can I go hiking in Rutherford County?

Absolutely! Rutherford County offers a variety of hiking trails, catering to all skill levels. Some popular trails include the Florence Nature Preserve, Rumbling Bald Mountain, and Little Bradley Falls Trail.

5. What is the significance of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Rutherford County?

The Blue Ridge Mountains provide breathtaking scenery and serve as a natural barrier, protecting the county from extreme weather conditions.

6. Are there any annual events held in Rutherford County?

Yes, Rutherford County hosts several annual events, including the Hilltop Fall Festival, Mayfest on Main, and the Dirty Dancing Festival, commemorating the famous movie filmed in the area.

7. Can I visit the Rutherford County Courthouse?

Yes, the Rutherford County Courthouse is open to the public and offers guided tours to learn about its rich history and architecture.

External Links

List of LSI Keywords

  • Rutherford County North Carolina
  • map of Rutherford County
  • municipal and township labels
  • history of Rutherford County
  • Blue Ridge Mountains
  • Rutherford County Courthouse
  • outdoor activities in Rutherford County
  • Catawba tribe
  • Revolutionary War battles in Rutherford County
Related Maps:  Map Of Florida Highlighting Manatee County

Maps. Maps. Maps.