Map Of The Nunavut Regions

Map Of The Nunavut Regions

Key Takeaways

  • Nunavut is a Canadian territory located in the northern part of the country.
  • The map of Nunavut regions highlights the different geographic areas within the territory.
  • Understanding the map helps in exploring the diverse landscapes and cultures of Nunavut.
  • Nunavut’s regions are home to various wildlife species, including polar bears and beluga whales.
  • The map assists in planning journeys, research, and better comprehension of the territory’s layout.


Nunavut, meaning “our land” in Inuktitut, was officially established as a Canadian territory on April 1, 1999. The creation of Nunavut marked a significant milestone in the recognition of the Inuit people’s rights and their land claims agreement with the Canadian government.

Before the division, Nunavut was a part of the Northwest Territories, with the majority of its population being Inuit. The division aimed to provide the Inuit people with greater autonomy and the ability to govern their own territory.

Unique Insights

  • Nunavut regions offer breathtaking Arctic landscapes, including tundra, mountains, and the Arctic Ocean coastline.
  • The map showcases thirteen administrative regions within Nunavut, each with its own distinct features and characteristics.
  • Nunavut’s Bathurst Inlet is a popular destination for wildlife enthusiasts and offers opportunities for activities like kayaking and hiking.
  • The Amundsen Gulf in the map is known for its rich marine life, with sightings of beluga whales being a common occurrence.
  • Nunavut’s regions also provide a unique blend of Inuit culture and history, allowing visitors to experience traditional customs and art forms.

Nunavut Regions – Facts at a Glance

Region Population Area (Sq km)
Baffin 13,750 1,036,443
Kivalliq 10,413 444,642
Kitikmeot 6,551 442,308
Qikiqtaaluk 20,485 989,879
Nunavut Settlement Area 7,144 22,708
Nunavik 12,090 507,777
Sanikiluaq 882 3,710
Iqaluit 7,740 52
Qikiqtani Region 18,988 445,291
Kitikmeot Region 6,755 405,212
Related Maps:  Cyclades Mapfr


1. What is Nunavut?

Nunavut is a Canadian territory located in the northern part of the country. It was established to provide self-governance to the Inuit people and protect their unique culture and way of life.

2. What does the map of Nunavut regions signify?

The map of Nunavut regions highlights the geographic areas within the territory, showcasing the diverse landscapes, wildlife, and Inuit communities found in each region.

3. Which regions are known for their Arctic coastline?

Nunavut regions such as Baffin and Qikiqtaaluk have extensive Arctic coastlines, offering stunning views and opportunities for exploring the marine ecosystem.

4. Can I experience Inuit culture in Nunavut?

Absolutely! Nunavut is rich in Inuit culture, and each region offers opportunities to experience traditional customs, art forms, and local festivals.

5. Are there any unique wildlife species in Nunavut?

Yes, Nunavut is home to diverse wildlife, including polar bears, beluga whales, narwhals, Arctic foxes, and various bird species.

6. How can the map assist in planning a trip to Nunavut?

The map provides a visual representation of Nunavut’s regions, helping in understanding the distances, transportation options, and attractions available in each area.

7. Are there any historical landmarks in Nunavut?

Yes, Nunavut has several historical landmarks that showcase the region’s rich history and heritage. One notable example is the ancient Thule archaeological site.

External Links

LSI Keywords

  • Nunavut map
  • Nunavut regions
  • Arctic landscapes
  • Inuit culture
  • Nunavut wildlife
  • Thule archaeological site
  • Exploring Nunavut
  • Nunavut attractions
  • Nunavut history
  • Self-governance in Nunavut
Related Maps:  Korea Map White

Maps. Maps. Maps.